Someone I Once Loved…..

“Someone I loved once gave me a box full of darkness. It took me years to understand that this too was a gift.”—Mary Oliver, Thirst

Betrayal comes in all levels and forms, whether it’s from a lover, friend, or family member. There is nothing like darkness in the mist of heartbreak. It can be the loneliest place on earth consuming everything from your heart, mind, thoughts, and soul leaving you feeling weak and vulnerable.
So what do you do when you are presented with a box full of darkness, embrace it. Cry, scream, pity yourself for a small time and then get up. Find the courage inside you, have a Harry Potter moment, speak some crazy incantation, and vanquish the darkness with light. Life goes on and it doesn’t stop just because you’re having a moment. In time you will forget that you were ever granted such a “gift” because you will be too busy living the life you were meant to have all along.
My box left behind a better understanding of what I could and could not deal with in my relationships (friends, lovers, family). It strengthened my resolve and in time a sense of forgiveness, understanding, hope, and peace.
At least once in your life time you will have your own box full of darkness. I urge you to keep it around long enough to learn the lesson that is kept deep inside of it; you might be surprised at what insight lays there. Then once things have run their course get rid of it, set it on fire, or simply vanquish it into another plane.

One thought on “Someone I Once Loved…..

Leave a Reply

