Summer Internship (Did you make it count?)!!

My 1st cover for my 1st internship

My 1st cover for my 1st internship

One of my goals for my 2013 bucket list was to be able to intern at the incredible Creative Loafing –Tampa. Well, that’s one thing I can proudly mark off my list. It, by no means, was what you might expect. There was no filing, answering of phones, or errands to be run. Instead we were allowed to have free reign in creating our very own issue to be submitted to the world. I personally feel like we took this challenge head on and came out with something we can fully stand behind.
Many people take on internship to figure out how things may fit into the bigger picture as far as finance, culture, lifestyle, and technical experience. During this summer process many of us were able to find out if writing for a publication like Creative Loafing was indeed a choice we wanted to make. For myself, I was able to answer some major questions that have been screaming in the back of my mind.
1. Am I on the right path?
2. Can I live the rest of my life not doing what I love?
3. Do I have what it takes to write not only the fluff stories but the hard news as well?
Luckily for me I didn’t really have to worry about fluff or hard news, but I’m sure I’ll find out soon enough. Working with the other interns for the most part was a breeze. It was easy to communicate with them by e-mail, Facebook group or by text since I wasn’t able to attend many of the meetings due to my normal work schedule.

Watching the Magic Happen

Watching the Magic Happen

Over the summer I found it helpful to keep a journal to document the roller coaster ride of thoughts as tasks were assigned and completed.(It’s also good practice to do this for the portfolio I will have to submit at the end of Fall.)
I started with a general explanation of projects/task which included what I may have done, learned, and took from the work that was done or meetings I attended.
I also had a reflection entry toward the end that outlined particular tasks, how they made me feel and whether or not I really enjoyed what I was doing.
Although my official internship doesn’t start until the Fall, I was glad that I was able to help out over the Summer and get an idea for what it will be like over the Fall. I also found some great apps/tools that were helpful in keeping me organized and ahead of the curve. Here are a few that you can try if you’re interested:
Get Organized
1. Evernote-Evernote is a great way to remember all those important ideas (and instructions!) you can’t afford to forget. Stay on top of your internship duties with notes, snapshots, and recorded voice reminders.
Cost: FREE
2. Remember the Milk -Organize and prioritize your internship tasks with Remember the Milk—or, in your case, Remember the 1,000 Things You Need To Do Before Wednesday. You can set due dates, add notes, postpone or repeat tasks, and even print relevant checklists.
Cost: FREE
Stay Awake
3. Coffee Finder (for those who love their coffee)-Those early office mornings really require a lot of caffeine. Lucky for you, this app will help you find the nearest Starbucks, Dunkin’ Donuts, Peet’s Coffee, Seattle’s Best, Au Bon Pain, and more. Almost makes that office coffee run sound like fun, right?
Cost: FREE
Stay Sharp
4. Dictionary.com-Searching for that perfect word to complete your email? Need help deciphering your boss’s crazy language? This app has both a dictionary and thesaurus (as well as useful features like audio pronunciations) to help you smooth talk your way to success.
Cost: FREE

Group Tour-Seeing our baby come to life

Group Tour-Seeing our baby come to life

5. TED Talks-Need a little inspiration to do your best work? The TED app features over 1,000 talks and presentations from some of the world’s most interesting and insightful people.
Cost: FREE
Track the Trends
6. Flipboard -Successful interns know their industry and Flipboard makes it easy to stay up-to-date on all the latest news. Create a personalized magazine based on your favorite topics and publications (plus your Facebook, Twitter, and RSS Feeds).
Cost: FREE
Be a Team Player
7. Dropbox-Dropbox is an awesome tool for collaboration. Use this app to back up your docs, files, videos, and photos, then easily share them with your whole team. Plus, you can access all your files from basically any device that’s connected to the internet.
Cost: FREE
Manage Your Money
8. Mint.com-You’re probably not making much money as an intern, but you want to keep a close eye on the cash you do have! Mint.com lets you track and monitor all bank account transactions, gives you an analysis of your spending habits, and even alerts you if your balance is too low.
Cost: FREE
Calm Down or Rock Out
9. Pandora Radio-After a long day, you might need to shake off some pent up frustration (internships aren’t always the easiest!) or celebrate a success. No matter what mood you’re in, Pandora has the perfect station to listen to old favorites or discover new tunes.
Cost: FREE

Leave a Reply

